Arlington Cares

Arlington Cares

A Celebration of Volunteerism

Volunteer Arlington honors and recognizes individuals and groups who are making a difference through volunteering at its annual Arlington Cares event. The event celebrates annual award winners and people who have spent 100 hours or more volunteering for an individual organization in the previous year.

Date: Tuesday, July 9, 2024
Time: 5 - 7:00 p.m.
Location: NRECA, 4301 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA


Nomination and Award Timeline


  • February 5, 2024: Nominations open. See award descriptions and nomination forms below.
  • Tuesday, April 30: Nomination deadline.
  • Mid-May: Nominators and award winners contacted
  • Monday, June 10: Deadline for nonprofit and Arlington County partners to submit names of volunteers who have served 100+ hours during the course of the previous year. Download submission form and email to
  • Tuesday, July 9, 5 - 7:00 p.m.: Awards presented at "Arlington Cares: A Celebration of Volunteerism." 


2024 Volunteer Award Winners

Read all about the awards.

  • Lifetime of Service Award: Sue MacLane, Arlington County Community Emergency Response Team (CERT)
  • Distinguished County Service Award: Jim Dooley, Arlington Addiction Recovery Initiative (Narcan training)
  • Distinguished Corporate Service Award: Rocklands Barbeque and Grilling Company
  • Racial Equity Award: Arlington County VICAP, Virginia's Insurance Counseling & Assistance Program
  • Family or Group Volunteer Service Award: St. Michael's Episcopal Church, PathForward
  • Youth Volunteer Service Award: Aliyah Majeed-Hall, AHC


2023 Volunteer Award Winners

  • Lifetime of Service Award: Carol Skelly, Developmental Disabilities Committee, Arlington Community Services Board
  • Distinguished County Service Award: Andrea Walker, Arlington Commission on Aging and Us Bus Inter-generational Walking School Bus
  • Distinguished Corporate Service Award: Bayou Bakery, Chef David Guas
  • RSVP Award: Kristen Pollard, Rebuilding Together Arlington/Fairfax/Falls Church
  • Group Service Award: The McPherson-Holland Family, Encore Stage and Studio
  • Youth Service Award: Avery Park, Doorways
  • Volunteer Arlington Award: Mary Highsmith, The Shepherd’s Center of McLean-Arlington-Falls Church

100 Hours of Service

The following individuals or groups were recognized at the Arlington Cares event for having volunteered more than 100 hours with their particular organizations, between July 1, 2022, and June 30, 2023.


2022 Arlington Cares Celebration

On Tuesday, July 12, 2022, Volunteer Arlington celebrated the 2022 Community Volunteer Award winners along with people who have spent 100 hours or more volunteering for an individual organization between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022.

Watch the recording of the celebration:

2022 Volunteer Award Winners

  • Volunteer Arlington Award: Les Garrison, CERT 
  • Racial Equity Civic Engagement Award: Julius D. Spain, Sr., NAACP, Arlington Branch ​ 
  • Group Service Award: John and Adrienne Scribner, Boy Scout Troop 106
  • RSVP Award: Patricia Hupalo, Rebuilding Together
  • Distinguished Corporate Service Award: AvalonBay Communities, Inc. with APAH
  • Distinguished County Service Awards:
    • Robin Norman Depaoli, National Capital Treatment and Recovery
    • Arlington Neighborhood Village volunteer group
  • Lifetime of Service Award: Meg Tuccillo, PathForward

2021 Arlington Cares Celebration

This free, virtual event recognized Community Service Award Winners and reminded us of the importance of serving others, especially in the midst of a pandemic. Thank you to those who joined us for a heartwarming opportunity for all ages to celebrate the overwhelming goodness that is within our community.

Watch the recording of the celebration:

2021 Volunteer Award Winners

  • Volunteer Arlington Award: Arlington CERT, Kate Nadeau (Arlington Free Clinic), MRC Volunteers
  • Youth Service Award: Ameerah Chaudry
  • Group Service Award: Arlington Mill Food Distribution (Anabel Cruz Zelaya, Mohamed Qazi, Trang A. Phan)
  • RSVP Award: Bill Marshall
  • Distinguished Corporate Service Award: Accenture
  • Distinguished County Service Awards: Bernard Piper, Kelly A. Thompson
  • Life-time of Service Award: Mark Riley

​Questions about the awards? Please contact